Follow

Disabling, suspending, and deleting users

  1. Before you delete a user
  2. Deleting individual users
  3. Deleting multiple users via import CSV file
  4. Deleting users via SFTP upload

Deleting a user will automatically remove all their Profile attributes except for their name and avatar image (both of which can be manually removed). It will not remove any of their past News Articles, uploaded items, posts, comments or likes. 

 

Before you delete a user

A user's Login Status must be either Disabled or Suspended before they can be deleted.

 

Disabling a user

Disabling a user's login removes their ability to access the Jostle platform, but keeps their Profile intact and visible. It can be done in the Login and Security section of their Edit User form, which can be accessed via Admin Settings > User Accounts and Data > Edit, Re-invite, Disable Users.

 

disable2.png

(For more information on disabling logins, please see this article)

 

Suspending a user (deletion alternative)

Suspending a user is a good option if you want to remove someone from your platform, but do not want to permanently delete all their information. A user with their Login Status set to Suspended will be prevented from logging in, will not appear in Search results and their Profile will not be visible in the platform.

 

suspend.png

Users that have been suspended can still be deleted via the same method as those who have been disabled (see below).

 

Deleting an individual user

Here are the steps to permanently delete a disabled or suspended user and all their data.

  1. Go to Admin Settings > User Accounts and Data > Delete Disabled or Suspended Users
  2. From the list of disabled/suspended users, check the box next to the user you wish to delete.
  3. Click the Delete button. 

delete.PNG

Before you can delete the user, a pop-up window will require you to either:

  • retain the user's name indefinitely and their avatar image for 6 months
  • immediately replace their name with their initials and remove their avatar image.

deleteuser.PNG

 

Deleting multiple users

First, you will need to have a CSV file containing a list of the users to delete.  It should have one column, with Username appearing at the top, and the list of Usernames (in email address format) following in the rows below. NOTE—when deleting multiple uses, their name will remain in the system and their avatar image will be removed after 6 months.

After you have prepared the CSV file:

  1. Go to Admin Settings > User Data To/From Other Systems > Delete Users (CSV)
  2. Select Choose file and select your CSV.
  3. Click Delete users.

 

Deleting multiple users via SFTP

If you want to automate the process of bulk deleting users via SFTP see here.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

6 Comments

  • 0
    Avatar
    Christine McCormick

    If a contributor has an article that they posted but their account is removed, what will happen?

  • 0
    Avatar
    Developers

    Hi Christine,

    That author's Articles will persist even after their account is removed.

    Walt

  • 0
    Avatar
    Aaron Kitto

    Posts do appear to stay in place after contributors are deleted.  

  • 2
    Avatar
    Aaron Kitto

    Why do contributors stay in Jostle after being deleted from a linked Google Account?  Why are contact details from a google domain not kept in Sync with the Jostle contributor details?

  • 0
    Avatar
    Eric DeBenedictis

    Will the contributor's files in the library also remain after the contributor is deleted?

  • 0
    Avatar
    Jostle Team

    Hi Eric

    Yes, if a Contributor is deleted any files that they may have uploaded to LIBRARY will still remain in place.

Please sign in to leave a comment.